finally spring - Reisverslag uit Bochum, Duitsland van Hanneke - WaarBenJij.nu finally spring - Reisverslag uit Bochum, Duitsland van Hanneke - WaarBenJij.nu

finally spring

Door: Webmaster

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Hanneke

23 Maart 2006 | Duitsland, Bochum

Hallo!

I am in a very good mood today as it seems to be spring here! Finally!
The sunshine and the singing of the birds make Bochum look so much better and makes me really happy! Inside it was already spring with the hyacints and the branch of horse chestnut my mother brought me two weeks ago and the early-birthday-present cress from Astrid that I sawed.
I am looking forward to exploring Bochum on my bicyle, although there are some pretty steep hills here! A pedestrian called me really brave when I passed by on my bicycle.. But I really want to go to the Kemnader See, a lake nearby. Also to check whether there might be possibilities to sail on the lake. Because this weather really makes me feel like sailing! Or maybe there will be some possibilities to do so in Indonesie!
I am starting to get more information on my stay there. I will leave around 7 June I think and the research ends around 31 August. Depending on whether I will have to go back to start an internship in the Netherlands immediately or not, I might go and travel a bit in the region afterwards.. I think I will book my flight this weekend and as soon as I know more, also on what the research will be on exactely, I will let you know.
I am aware of the fact that I have not been writing updates that often, but I could make it a resolution for my the 27th year of my life.. :)
Some people have been asking me whether Germany is really abroad. And I can surely tell you that it is!
Of course there is the language. I am really happy that I know a little German. Seems like the terrible classes by Liebe Henstra (that is the real name of the man, I think it was a horrible mistake of his parents to call him 'Liebe') did produce some result in the end. But the mere fact that you hear another language makes you feel abroad anyway.
And the food is different too. I think in a way the Dutch are really blessed by their colonial passed (how politically incorrect! :) )! At least we have many different types of food in the Netherlands now, and many different spices too. I feel that the Germans must eat rather dull food. Although I must say thay our traditional Dutch food 'boerenkool' is not really an explosion of different tastes either. But my classmates seemed to like it during the cultural dinner we had where everybody brought food from their country. And last Sunday Masako from Japan and Shay from Israel seemed to like it too when we had dinner together at my parents place, in Enschede.
Also, houses and buildings really look different in the Netherlands. After a long trip by train from Bochum to Groningen, Masako, Shay and I decided that German houses seem to have smaller windows. Luckily my windows are quite big so that I can enjoy the sun today.
And lastly, whereas the Dutch are know for all the rules we have, it seems to me as if the Germans are even worse. Maybe not in the number of rules, but definitely in the strict way of the enforcement.
But still: I really like it here!! Especially due to all the other NOHA-students!
I am quite busy, but you are most welcome to come and visit me!

Auf Wiedersehen!

Hanneke

  • 23 Maart 2006 - 15:18

    Maike:

    Hi Hanneke!
    Leuk om weer een nieuw berichtje te lezen! En de zon schjint hier ook maar het is echt vreselijk koud! Maar het is idd wel errug goed voor het humeur!
    Alvast hele dikke zoenen voor je verjardg en een hele mooie dag morgen!
    x Maike

  • 23 Maart 2006 - 23:14

    Nico:

    Ha Feestvarken
    hartelijk gefeliciteerd zum Geburtstag. Hoop dat het mooi weer blijft, ook zondag. Dikke kus. Nico

  • 27 Maart 2006 - 08:00

    Maartje:

    Hee Hanneke, Zum Geburtstag viel Gluck! Leuk weer je nieuwe berichtje, je had naar Ierland moeten komen man, daar is het al lang voorjaar :-)
    kus maartje

  • 29 Maart 2006 - 08:32

    José:

    Nog gefeliciteerd! Moeten we wat IJselmeerwater komen brengen?? Woensdag gaat de Zorg met vLijt weer door de stad richting het ruime sop!
    Als je effe in Ned bent kom maar uitwaaien!

  • 03 April 2006 - 09:49

    Ilja:

    Lieve Hannete,
    Nog gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag!! Ik weet het, een beetje laat, maar beter laat dan nooit zullen we maar zeggen. Morgen vertrek ik naar Cuba! Lekker 3 weken vakantie. Hopelijk wat warmer dan hier...
    Kus, Ilja

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Duitsland, Bochum

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

13 Januari 2007

Spring!

04 December 2006

Dutch update from Hanneke

31 Augustus 2006

Last message from Canada

22 Augustus 2006

The Wedding (and more)

13 Augustus 2006

Stress?
Hanneke

Actief sinds 30 Nov. -0001
Verslag gelezen: 326
Totaal aantal bezoekers 67155

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Februari 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: